50 Years of Funk & Soul: Live at the Fox Theater – Oakland, CA – June 2018

Release Date: 4/16/2021
Catalog Number: ART7078
Style: Funk
Number of Discs: 1

Physical Format:

In Stock
$27.99 $26.99
1. Stroke '75
2. Ain't Nothing Stopping Us No
3. You Ought to Be Having Fun
4. Soul with a Capital S
5. Stop
6. You're So Wonderful, So Marvelous
7. On the Serious Side
8. Just When We Start Makin' It
9. Soul Vaccination
10. What is Hip? / Soul Power
11. Do You Like That?
12. Drop It in the Slot
13. Can't You See (You Doin' Me Wrong)?
14. Maybe It'll Rub Off
15. Don't Change Horses
16. Squib Cakes
17. On the Soul Side of Town
18. Diggin' on James Brown (Medley): Diggin’ on James Brown / It’s a New Day / Mother Popcorn / There It Is / I Got the Feelin’ / Diggin’ on James Brown (Reprise)
19. So Very Hard to Go
20. Knock Yourself Out
21. You're Still a Young Man
22. Souled Out
Notes and Editorial Reviews

With a history 50+ years in the making, Tower of Power has been a funk institution since 1968, knocking out hits like "What is Hip," "So Very Hard to Go," "This Time It's Real" and "You're Still a Young Man" while lending their soulful sound to collaborations with Santana, the Grateful Dead, Elton, Huey Lewis, Justin Timberlake and everyone in-between. "50 Years of Funk & Soul - Live at the Fox Theater" captures their storied career with no-holds-barred victory lap concerts in Oakland, CA, performing their full spectrum of life-affirming funk and soul hits to sold out audiences in 2018. Available as a 3-LP set, 2-CD/1-DVD package, standalone DVD and digital audio configuration, these historic performances include alumni special guests Chester Thompson, Lenny Pickett, Francis 'Rocco' Prestia, Bruce Conte and Ray Greene.

Customer Reviews