Frank Kimbrough

Release Date: 9/10/2021
Label: Sunnyside
Catalog Number: 1639
Number of Discs: 1

Physical Format:

In Stock
1. Waiting in Santander
2. Air
3. November
4. Ancestors
5. Eyes
6. Jimmy G
7. Beginning
8. Union Square
9. Over
10. Solid
11. All These Years
Notes and Editorial Reviews

It is hard to listen to a posthumous released recording without reflecting on what the world has lost in their absence. Pianist and composer Frank Kimbrough was an individual who was beloved by all who knew him. A true musician's musician and mentor to many, Kimbrough's legacy lives on in his work and the lives that he touched. His passing in 2020 has left a hole in the heart of the jazz world. // Kimbrough's Ancestors is a recording that encompasses much of the leader's personality, depth, and approach to music making. Assembling a drummer-less trio with cornetist Kirk Knuffke and bassist Masa Kamaguchi, Kimbrough brought his spontaneity and introspection to the fore on a collection of original compositions and improvisations.

Customer Reviews