Berlin 1959

Release Date: 8/20/2021
Label: Storyville
Catalog Number: SVL1038315
Performer: Duke Ellington
Number of Discs: 2
Length: 86 Minutes

Physical Format:

In Stock
Notes and Editorial Reviews

What we have here is the welcome memento of the Duke Ellington’s 1959 European tour. Berlin’s Sportpalast is not a concert hall and during the cursed Nazi reign often was the site of speeches by Hitler and his fellow criminals, but the hall can be said to have been thoroughly purified by sounds of jazz by the time of this concert. The music starts with the Ellington Medley, by then a standard concert opener in varied embodiments. Critics often chided Duke for (in their opinion) overdoing this staple, but in fact it was not only a clever way of dealing with what undoubtedly would have been audience requests for beloved Ducal standards, but also a way of celebrating the continued life of his musical heritage. The concert has been remastered to modern standards, and is a must own for any Ellington fan.

1. Black and Tan Fantasy
2. Creole Love Call
3. The Mooche
4. Newport Up
5. Such Sweet Thunder
6. Sonnet to Hank Cinq
7. Kinda Dukish - Rockin' in Rhythm
8. El gato
9. Flirtibird
10. Things Ain't What They Used to Be
11. Skin Deep
12. VIP's Boogie
13. Jam With Sam
14. St. Louis Blues
15. Bill Bailey, Won't You Please Come Home?
16. Walking and Singing the Blues
17. Don't Get around Much Anymore
18. Do Nothing till You Hear from Me
19. I Got It Bad (and That Ain't Good)
20. In a Sentimental Mood
21. Mood Indigo
22. I'm Beginning to See the Light
23. Sophisticated Lady
24. Caravan
25. In My Solitude
26. Satin Doll
27. I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart - Don't Get Around Much Anymore
28. Basin Street Blues
Customer Reviews