Grateful Deadication

Release Date: 7/16/2021
Catalog Number: 003346902
Number of Discs: 1

Physical Format:

In Stock
$11.99 $10.99
1. Fire on the Mountain
2. Dark Star
3. Loser (feat. Bob Weir)
4. Estimated Prophet
5. Eyes of the World
6. The Eleven
7. Touch of Grey (feat. Herschel Boone)
8. Touch of Grey (Instrumental)
9. Franklin's Tower
10. The Music Never Stopped
Notes and Editorial Reviews

Dave McMurray made his Blue Note debut in 2018 with Music Is Life, an album that focused largely on his own assertive original tunes. Now, the saxophonist returns with Grateful Deadication, a cover album that turns one of the most celebrated catalogs in rock songwriting into a vehicle for his own jazz expression. McMurray transforms Grateful Dead favorites like "Dark Star" and "Franklin's Tower." He is joined by vocalist Bettye LaVette & Bob Weir & Wolf Bros. on a sublime version of "Loser."

Customer Reviews