I Pledge Allegiance To The Flag... The White Flag

Release Date: 3/5/2021
Label: Sunnyside
Catalog Number: 1606
Number of Discs: 1

Physical Format:

In Stock
$16.99 $15.99
1. Fables of Faubus
2. East Coasting
3. Oh Lord Don't Let Them Drop That Atomic Bomb on Me
4. O.P
5. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
6. Free Cell Block F, 'Tis Nazi U.S.A
7. Devil Woman
8. Peggy's Blue Skylight
9. Pithecanthropus Erectus
10. Remember Rockefeller at Attica
11. Alabama
Notes and Editorial Reviews

It is hard not to be moved by the singularly brilliant voice of Charles Mingus. In reinterpreting his tunes and those of other Black voices, Stephanie Nilles knows that she is privileged and remains sensitive. She also knows that the fight against racism is a universal cause and that the power of Mingus's work artistically assists that cause, thus the creation of her moving new recording, I Pledge Allegiance To The Flag... The White Flag.

Customer Reviews