Lester Young with the Oscar Peterson Trio

Release Date: 6/24/1997
Catalog Number: 3145214512
Style: Bebop
Number of Discs: 1
Length: 63 Minutes

Physical Format:

In Stock
$18.99 $17.99
1. Ad Lib Blues
2. I Can't Get Started
3. Just You, Just Me
4. Almost Like Being in Love
5. Tea for Two
6. There Will Never Be Another You
7. Back Home Again in Indiana
8. On the Sunny Side of the Street
9. Stardust
10. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
11. I Can't Give You Anything but Love
12. These Foolish Things (Remind Me of You)
13. (It Takes) Two to Tango
14. I Can't Get Started (False Start)
Notes and Editorial Reviews


Defying what has become conventional wisdom, tenor saxophonist Lester Young cut some of his greatest recordings in the 1950s -- that is, when he was reasonably healthy. On this wonderful effort with pianist Oscar Peterson, guitarist Barney Kessel, bassist Ray Brown, and drummer J.C. Heard, Prez performs definitive versions of "Just You, Just Me" and "Tea for Two," and plays a string of concise but memorable ballad renditions. -AllMusic

Customer Reviews