Oscar Peterson for Lovers

Release Date: 8/24/2004
Label: Verve
Catalog Number: B000238202
Number of Discs: 1
Length: 46 Minutes

Physical Format:

In Stock
$17.99 $10.99
1. My One And Only Love
2. The Man I Love
3. They Didn't Believe Me
4. I've Got A Crush On You
5. Prelude To A Kiss
6. Heartstrings
7. Somewhere
8. Sweet Lorraine
9. I'm A Fool To Want You
10. I Wants To Stay Here
11. Over the Rainbow
Notes and Editorial Reviews


Standout tracks include George Gershwin's "I've Got a Crush on You," a suitably romantic song that features the smoky voice of Bill Henderson. Again, Oscar Peterson takes a restrained approach to this tune, allowing Gershwin's beautiful melody to speak for itself. On "Sweet Lorraine," Peterson pays tribute to Nat "King" Cole by singing one of the crooner's most popular tunes himself. Peterson has an impressive voice, too; in fact, he mimics Cole quite well. Nonetheless, it's obviously Peterson's piano playing that stands out. Indeed, all 11 tracks display true warmth and sensitivity. -AllMusic

Customer Reviews