Release Date: 6/26/2020
Label: Savant
Number of Discs: 1

Physical Format:

1. Moondance
2. Dat Dere
3. Hit the Road Jack
4. Mia
5. Philly Mambo
6. Cumbia Jazz Fusion Experimental
7. Yuyo
8. Preciosa
9. Martinez
10. Rebirth Bata Rumba Experimental
Notes and Editorial Reviews

Rarely do we get a precious gift from such a talented artist so close to their departure. A few months before his death on March 21 at age 85, prolific percussionist and Latin jazz icon Ray Mantilla approved the final mix of the tracks that appear on Rebirth. This album is the coda to a long career that included collaborations with Ray Barretto, Art Blakey, Dizzy Gillespie, Freddie Hubbard, Herbie Mann, Charles Mingus, Eddie Palmieri, Max Roach, Bobby Watson and many others. - DownBeat Magazine


Click here to read the full review at DownBeat Magazine

Customer Reviews