Songs From My Father [2 CDs]

Release Date: 8/6/2021
Catalog Number: WCS131
Number of Discs: 2
Length: 96 Minutes

Physical Format:

In Stock
Notes and Editorial Reviews

"Songs From My Father" is the much-anticipated new album from renowned musical polymath Gerry Gibbs. On his thirteenth release as a leader, drummer-percussionist-bandleader-arranger Gibbs presents a smashing double-disc masterwork featuring four iterations of his acclaimed Thrasher Dream Trio. Under his astute direction, Gibbs and his band of jazz titans pay homage to the musical legacy of Gerry's 96-year-old father, Terry Gibbs. To honor Terry, one of the last living architects of bebop and innovators of the vibraphone, Gerry selected 18 tunes from his father’s vast discography and interpreted the timeless material through his own refined compositional lens with inventive, modern arrangements. In the throes of a global pandemic, Gibbs then went on a nationwide trek to capture recordings of himself alongside a long list of his friends and collaborators – the finest improvisors of our time. Notably, "Songs From My Father" features the last recorded performance of the great Chick Corea, and includes one of Chick's tunes composed specifically for this project. With Gibbs in the drum chair, his Thrasher Dream Trios include Chick Corea and Ron Carter, Kenny Barron and Buster Williams, Patrice Rushen and Larry Goldings, and Geoff Keezer and Christian McBride. With this monumental new recording, Gerry Gibbs cements his standing as one of the most creative and forward-thinking musicians on the contemporary jazz scene.

1. Kick Those Feet
2. Smoke 'Em Up
3. Bopstacle Course
4. Nutty Notes
5. Take It From Me
6. Sweet Young Song of Love
7. The Fat Man
8. Lonely Days
9. Hey Chick
10. Townhouse 3
11. T and S
12. 4 AM
13. Waltz for My Children
14. Hippie Twist
15. Lonely Dreams
16. For Keeps
17. Pretty Blue Eyes
18. Gibberish
19. Tango for Terry
Customer Reviews