Stan Getz and The Oscar Peterson Trio

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Catalog Number: 8278262
Number of Discs: 1
Length: 62 Minutes

Physical Format:

In Stock
$11.99 $10.99
1. I Want to Be Happy
2. Pennies from Heaven
3. Ballad Medley: Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered / I Don't Know Why I Just Do / How Long Has This Been Going On / I Can't Get Started / Polka Dots and Moonbeams
4. I'm Glad There Is You
5. Tour's End
6. I Was Doing All Right
7. Bronx Blues
8. Three Little Words
9. Detour Ahead
10. Sunday
11. Blues for Herky
Notes and Editorial Reviews


Stan Getz and Oscar Peterson were both consummate performers, comfortable at any tempo, when they met for this 1957 recording, and they're clearly enjoying one another's skills on ballads and uptempo tunes alike. The group is one of the finest editions of Peterson's trios, with bassist Ray Brown and guitarist Herb Ellis. It's virtually a machine for quiet swing, and the absence of a drummer lets Getz's silky sound come to the fore with all its details intact. -Stuart Broomer

Customer Reviews