This Bitter Earth

Release Date: 3/19/2021
Catalog Number: MAC1177
Number of Discs: 1

Physical Format:

In Stock
$17.99 $16.99
1. This Bitter Earth
2. How Lovely to Be a Woman
3. You've Got to Be Carefully Taught
4. Getting to Know You
5. The Man I Love
6. You're the Dangerous Type
7. Trust in Me
8. He Hit Me (And It Felt Like a Kiss)
9. As Long as He Needs Me
10. Everybody Has the Right to Be Wrong
11. Prisoner of Love
12. The Sports Page
13. Sing
Notes and Editorial Reviews

Whereas Veronica Swift's 2019 Mack Avenue Records debut, Confessions, contained songs that played out like pages from her personal diary, on the captivating follow-up, This Bitter Earth, she flips by crafting an ingenious song cycle that tackles sexism ("How Lovely to Be a Woman"), domestic abuse ("He Hit Me"), environmental issues, racism, xenophobia ("You Have To Be Carefully Taught"), and the dangers of fake news ("The Sports Page"). The singer-songwriter gathered material that covers multiple genres, including jazz, American musicals, and contemporary indie-rock fortifying her position as a leading force in genre-bending song presentation.

Customer Reviews