Walk in the Park

Release Date: 7/24/2020
Label: Cellar Live
Number of Discs: 1

Physical Format:

1. Walk in the Park
2. Lazy Days
3. Smile
4. Soul Eyes
5. Hello My Lovely
6. Scarlet Ribbons
7. Summertime
8. Cook's Blues
9. Georgia on My Mind
10. Nature's Lament
Notes and Editorial Reviews

A hard swinging, soulful debut by Vancouver saxophonist Jerry Cook. Walk In The Park sizzles from the opening downbeat.

A Walk In The Park is an absolute delight to listen to from start to finish. The complexity is in the simplicity. The music reflects how Jerry is as a person: swinging and soulful. The all-star Vancouver rhythm section of pianist Chris Gestrin, bassist John Lee and drummer Jesse Cahill provide the perfect foil for Jerry's bluesy flourishes a la Arnett Cobb, Stanley Turrentine and Willis Jackson.

Customer Reviews